The Wire


Source: Music of the Avant-garde, 1966-1973 ed. Larry Austin and Douglas Kahn

  • Book - Temporarily Unavailable £25.00 - Unavailable

Source: Music of the Avant-garde, 1966-1973 edited by Larry Austin and Douglas Kahn

Published by University of California Press (396 pages; paperback)

The Wire webshop price: £25.00
Postage and packing:
UK - free
Overseas airmail - £2
Subscribers to the print edition of The Wire get a £2 discount off each copy.

The journal Source: Music of the Avant-garde was a seminal source for materials on the heyday of experimental music and arts. Conceived in 1966 and published in 1973, it includes composers and artists such as John Cage, Harry Partch, David Tudor, Morton Feldman, Robert Ashley, Pauline Oliveros, Dick Higgins, Nam June Paik, Steve Reich, and many others. Source documents crucial changes in performance practice and live electronics, computer music, notation and event scores, theater and installations, intermedia and technology, politics and the social roles of composers and performers, and innovations in the sound of music.