The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982

In Writing

Showing posts by Tony Herrington about BiP_HOp

[Reciprocess: +/vs.]

Tony Herrington

[Reciprocess: +/vs.], which was compiled to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the Marseille-based BiP_HOp label and was given away exclusively to all The Wire’s subscribers with copies of the March 2009 issue, has been nominated for Compilation of the Year in the sixth edition of the Qwartz Electronic Music Awards.

The nominations for the awards were chosen by a jury that this year included Gudrun Gut and Alejandro Jodorowsky. Since 1 December the public (that's the rest of us) has been able to listen online and vote on the jury’s nominations. The winners will be announced in April 2010 at a ceremony in Paris.

To hear the nominations in all categories and vote on them go to the Qwartz site.

[Reciprocess: +/vs.] takes the form of an 80 minute piece of music assembled by BiP_HOp label boss Philippe Petit. The piece includes input from a host of underground musicians, including Cosey Fanni Tutti, Simon Fisher Turner, Eugene S Robinson, Jason Forrest, Lydia Lunch, Jean-Herve Peron, Jesu and others.

Tags: | | | |