The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Deathbomb Arc celebrate 20 year anniversary with new compilation

The Santa Maria, California based label marks two decades with a 13 track “posse comp”

Over two decades Californian independent label Deathbomb Arc has released music by Clipping, Death Grips, JPEGMAFIA, Foot Village, Lana Del Rabies, Yellow Swans, Signor Benedick The Moor, Gang Wizard, True Neutral Crew, and more. The label kicks off its 20th anniversary this year with a compilation consisting of all new material.

Deathbomb Arc boss Brian Miller describes the download only compilation False Positive Crew: Deathbomb Arc 20 Year Anniversary as “a label posse comp over a year in the making, featuring unlikely collaborations between Deathbomb artists, new bands formed for the comp, and even a few solo tracks”. Contributors include Signor Benedick The Moor, Slowcoach, GRYPT, Scrolls, JPEGMAFIA, True Neutral, and SHADI, among others.

Miller hints that the anniversary will be marked in various other ways aside from the compilation. These will be announced when False Positive Crew is released via the label’s Bandcamp on 16 February. “There will be more anniversary celebrations over the course of 2018,” he says. “But this is round one.”