The Wire


Below The Radar 11

Track 6

"Bubbletyggegummiboble Part 2, 3 & 4"

from the release Musik For Seks Elektriske Guitarer

Artist statement:

Following his solo-project Frisk Frugt and a decade of doing music and art projects in the yoyooyoy collective, composer, guitarist and eccentric multi-talent Anders Lauge Meldgaard has put the full force of his creative power into the mysteries of the electric guitar, bringing us his most epic creation to date.

The idea for the guitar sextet sprung while Meldgaard was traveling through Mali and Burkina Faso and encountering the local music. Much impressed by the simplicity, discipline and tightly knit collaboration of the musicians he witnessed, Meldgaard decided to explore a similar strategy for the electric guitar. The result takes minimal compositions, based on extended repetition and microscopic - yet danceable - grooves, as a departure point for climactic improvisations.

The material for this LP was produced over a one year period of intense work - with recording sessions in Copenhagen, Berlin and Oita - leading to a dense, multilayered creation. As the title of one of the tracks lays it out, it’s a bicycle ride straight to the sun.

Oliver Hoiness
Andreas Pallisgaard
Claus Haxholm
Martin Vognsen
Andreas Fu?hrer
Laust Færch
Kasper Vang
Tobias Fuglsang Mynborg
Anders Lauge Meldgaard

Anders Lauge Meldgaard is a founding member of the yoyooyoy collective, which also includes Yoke & Yohs, Lights People, Johns Lunds, Stof, Havens Fugle, and other projects. He is part of Slutspurt, co-founder of the eclectic big band Den Nørrejyske Ø’s Stororkester For Opløst Mønster Musik and has performed at the Roskilde Festival, Jazzjuice Festival, Transmediale Festival and toured Europe, USA and Japan. In 2010 Meldgaard released, as his solo project Frisk Frugt, the album “Dansktoppen møder Burkina Faso i det himmelblå rum hvor solen bor, suite”.