The Wire


Below The Radar Special Edition: Zikro - Advanced Music From Ukraine

Track 3

"Fly Above Where Leaves Do Not (edit)"

As a musician, producer and founder of the Nexsound label, Andrey Kiritchenko has made a significant contribution to the development of the electronic music scene in Ukraine.

Born in 1976 in Kharkiv, he has been making music since the mid-1990s. Since the early 2000s he has concentrated on producing experimental electronic and electroacoustic music. He has collaborated internationally with the likes of Francisco López, Kim Cascone, Martin Brandlmayr, Alan Courtis, Jason Kahn, Jeff Surak and Saralunden; his tracks have been remixed by Andreas Tilliander, Frank Bretschneider, Mikael Stavostrand, Frans de Waard/GOEM, Brian Lavelle, Scanner, Marcus Maeder and others. Under various aliases he has released more than 40 albums on labels such as Staalplaat, SPEKK, Ad Noiseam, Nexsound, Zeromoon, Bip-Hop and Neo Ouija. In the 2006 Qwartz Electronic Music Awards he was nominated in the categories Discovery and Most Promising Artist. In 2006-07 he curated the Detali Zvuku international festival for experimental music and related visual arts in Kiev. In 2007 he participated in the Ukrainian exhibition at the Venice Biennale. In 2008-09 he edited the Ukrainian magazine for contemporary music, Gurkit. He is the director of NextSound, an international festival for advanced music and digital arts.