The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


The Wire Tapper 39

Track 8

"Laisse-moi. Momentum" (Wire Tapper edit)

From Aahh… Mui Interesante… The Sound Shape Of Language

The Saarbrucken trio of Peter Eifel (vocals, bass, guitar), Thomas Schmitt (guitar) and Amby Schillo (percussion) cross jazz and classical music with pop. They play their own compositions alongside selected covers, which range from Beatles tunes to Renaissance music. The members are influenced, variously, by 16th and 17th century music, Led Zeppelin, Yes, Free, Robert Fripp, Brecht/Weill, Jaques Brel, Iannis Xenakis, Serge Gainsbourg and the German Lieder tradition.