The Wire


Emptyset: Wire 400 Mix #6

May 2017

Following the release of their fifth LP, the next in our series of Wire 400 mixes comes from sound architects Emptyset

Formed in the UK southwesterly city of Bristol back in 2005, Emptyset is the project of James Ginzburg and Paul Purgas. The duo, who are currently divided between London and Berlin, recently released their fifth LP Borders (Thrill Jockey), and in April they premiered a new commission at DRAF studio in London. The site-specific performance was entirely acoustic, using compositional aspects of micro-tonality, percussion and voice. Talking of the mix, they say: “The mix brings together work from artists and musicians whose work have been an inspiration and have informed ideas around the recent album Borders, reflecting upon the interwoven histories of electronic and acoustic music, as well as the inherent ritual qualities of sound and performance.”


Laurie Spiegel “Wandering In Our Times”
Philus “Kefeidi”
Rose Kallal “Algol”
Yoshi Wada “Singing”
Gérard Grisey “Pulsar Vela”
Emptyset “DRAF Live Recording”
Carol Weaver “Diving Deeper”
Madjid Khaladj “Hayy/The Living”
Dome “An-An-An-D-D-D”
Mika Vainio “Mining”
Emptyset “Ascent (Cevdet Erek remix)”
Jeff Mills “Rabid Star Clusters”
Carter Tutti Void “f = (2.4)”
Oren Ambarchi & Z’EV “Alef”
Nisennemondai “A”
Catherine Christer Hennix “The Electronic Harpsichord”

Leave a comment

Pseudonyms welcome.

Used to link to you.