The Wire


Listen to Radiophonic Workshop's new album Burials In Several Earths

May 2017

The pioneering electronic group release their first album of new material since 1985

Original members of the Radiophonic Workshop Peter Howell, Roger Limb, Dr Dick Mills, Paddy Kingsland and long-time associate composer Mark Ayres, are collaborating again, almost twenty years after the BBC sound effects unit was decommissioned.

Although the five tracks of Burials In Several Earths are improvisations without starting points, they take their titles from the unfinished utopian novel/poem New Atlantis by Francis Bacon, a section of which was framed and mounted on the wall of the Workshop as a 'morale booster' by one of its founders, Daphne Oram.

Radiophonic Workshop say, “While the poem itself was not the influence for the improvisations that make up the body of the Burials In Several Earths, the ideas in the novel seemed to fit the work as well as provide an obvious link to the history of the Radiophonic Workshop itself and the infamous Room 13 where the workshop began its work at BBC Maida Vale.”

Burials In Several Earths is released 19 May by Room 13 and is available to pre-order

The group will play in surround sound at London's Science Museum IMAX Theatre on 16 June

Subscribers can read Geeta Dayal's review of the new album in issue 400 of The Wire

Leave a comment

Pseudonyms welcome.

Used to link to you.