The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Stream the new album by improv collective Rutger Hauser

June 2019

The Swim was recorded during a week long stay in a community hall in Streymoy, Faroe Islands

In summer 2018, London based sextet Rutger Hauser travelled to the self-governing archipelago of the Faroe Islands to record their second album The Swim. Musicians Lisa Busby, Jamie Coe, Rose Dagul, John Harries, Ian Stonehouse and Jon Klaemint Hofgaard lived and worked for a week in a community hall called Sólarmagn on the coast at Velbastaður, a village on the island of Streymoy.

“The place is in the music,” says composer and vocalist Busby. “The sound of the big, wood-panelled room, the coast road empty in both directions and the sea outside the window.”

The album is a collection of improvisations recorded at Sólarmagn. “The Swim sounds like a group of people working things out together,” Busby continues. “If we could do without pre-determined form and without conventions of improvised music; if we could not necessarily be drummer, bass player, guitarist, cellist, electronicist, but sometimes just people playing together in different combinations; unspecialised, unsure. It’s mostly first or second takes. When we did things more times, they usually ended up worse.”

The Swim is released on 1 July 2019 by Adaadat (UK) and Tutl (Faroes). Read a review of the album in the forthcoming Wire issue 426.



Leave a comment

Pseudonyms welcome.

Used to link to you.