The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Stream tracks from the new album by die Angel

September 2017

Ilpo Väisänen & Dirk Dresselhaus’s eighth LP is dedicated to Mika Vainio

Ilpo Väisänen, formerly of Pan Sonic, and Dirk Dresselhaus, aka Schneider™, have been playing an annual show together since 1999, the year they first met while Dresselhaus was supporting Pan Sonic on tour. Since then, they have released seven albums as a duo under the name Angel. Now they are about to present their eighth as the slightly modified die Angel. Recorded in Germany between December 2016 and January 2016, it’s called Entropien I and it features Oren Ambarchi on tracks “Terminen Kevät” and “Silvaticum”.

“Angel has been so far a rather subconscious project so it is a bit difficult for us to write or talk about it,” say die Angel. “We consider all important information to be in the sound of the music and the way it is communicated between the two of us, our musical guests and the listener. We never have a plan before recording and the music is always 100 per cent instantly composed. We create a situation in which we can learn from ourselves by listening and interpreting our stuff much later than when it is recorded, and that is where the concepts for the albums generally came from… it’s like Miles Davis said: ‘I’ll play it first and tell you what it is later.’

“Nevertheless, I guess one can’t avoid developing a specific language when doing it for so many years on a regular basis,” they continue. “After being mainly into 'latitude' for the cycle of albums on Editions MegoKalmukia, Hedonism, 26000 & Terra Null. – we decided to enter old methodological territory, by approaching rather an 'altitude' way of working, meaning that we kind of broke the developed language and moved into the molecular structure of our sound… that’s at least what we thought when we heard the Entropien I recordings for the first time.”

Entropien I will be released by Cosmo Rhythmatic, the Berlin label operated by Shapednoise, Ascion and D. Carbone, on 6 October 2017. It's available to pre-order.

Leave a comment

Pseudonyms welcome.

Used to link to you.