The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Listen to music from the Sound//Space performance series

July 2012

Stream excerpts from the sound art gallery SoundFjord's performance series in Bermondsey, London.

The first three tracks are excerpts from a performance of Phill Niblock's 3 Compositions (1977-2003) and The Movement of People Working on 1 July, 2012. With David Ryan (clarinets), Ian Mitchell (clarinets), Alison Blunt (violin), Dominic Lash (contrabass) and Joe Zeitlin (cello). It was recorded by Rie Nakajima, and edited and mixed by Andrew Riley.

The fourth track is from the Vocal Constructivists' Medium Rare event on 1 July, 2012 (with compositions by Mark Applebaum, Anthony Braxton, Ronald Kuivila and Paula Matthusen), and is of Matthusen's "In Words Of One Syllable". Recorded, edited and mixed by Andrew Riley.

The last track is from the beginning of a performance scored and performed by Stephen Cornford, Patrick Farmer, Dominic Lash and Lee Patterson. The full piece is two and a half hours in length. Performed on 22 July, 2012. Recorded by Helen Frosi. Edited by Helen Frosi and Andrew Riley.

SoundFjord's Sound//Space record shop and performance series is currently running at the expansive V22 space in Bermondsey, South London. This week is the last in a month that saw SoundFjord working with over 100 artists, collectives, labels and workshop leaders presenting a programme of talks, workshops and residencies, as well as performances. The final week's events include Bill Aitchison's Vinyl on 26 July (7:30pm) and a closing day celebration with performances by Material Studies Group and Carousel Collective, as well as performance on the V22 roof by the Aural Terrains sextet, more info here.

Leave a comment

Pseudonyms welcome.

Used to link to you.