The Wire

Video

The violinist and vocalist presents a visual accompaniment to music from her new album, Pools Of Light

Canadian violin player Jessica Moss has previously collaborated with Black Ox Orkestar, Arcade Fire and most prominently plays with the group Thee Silver Mt Zion Memorial Orchestra, of which she is an original member. Pools Of Light is released on the Montreal based label Constellation and is her second solo offering. The video, a montage of slowly morphing land and seascapes, was filmed and edited by Jessica herself and is soundtracked by a melding of the last two tracks from the record – “Glaciers II, Pt I” and “Glaciers II, Pt II”. Moss begins a UK tour on 15 June, which will include a special Wire 400 show at London Fields Brewhouse on 16 June with Zu and Tomaga. Full details listed below.

Thursday 15 June, Bristol - Exchange
Friday 16 June, London - London Fields Brewhouse
Saturday 17 June, Birmingham - Supersonic Festival
Sunday 18 June, Brighton - Green Door
Tuesday 20 June, Galway - Róisín Dubh
Thursday 22 June, Dublin - DBD at The Mezz
Friday 23 June, Belfast - The Limelight
Saturday 24 June, Glasgow - Stereo
Sunday 25 June, Newcastle - The Cluny
Tuesday 27 June, Colchester - Colchester arts centre

All dates in support of Zu, aside from the last date when Jessica shall perform with Laniakea

Nina Power reviews of Pools Of Light in issue 401 of The Wire. Subscribers can access the issue via the online archive.