The Wire


Watch Studio Van Broekhoven use speakers to design 3D printed ceramics

Eindhoven-based Ricky van Broekhoven is a sound designer and musician with a background in design and architecture, and in his work he gives physical form to the vibration patterns of sound. Solid Vibration is the result of ongoing experimental research with ceramicist and designer Olivier van Herpt. They are exploring how to apply sound energy to determine the shape of objects.

In this video, the printer, designed by van Herpt, extrudes clay and is able to print ceramic objects up to 70 cm high within an hour. At this speed, external forces can leave their marks in the clay during the printing process. The collaborators developed a hardware plugin for the printer which uses a large speaker to make the print bed resonate. These vibrations are transferred to the clay and then solidified in the ceramic prints.

See more at

Watch two videos by artist Lisa Busby

Watch “Platinum Ash Rose Gold” and “Hollow Blown Egg” by musician and artist Lisa Busby. Her debut release Fingers In The Gloss is out now via Bandcamp

Watch: Floris Vanhoof films

Stream an excerpt from Floris Vanhoof's recent DVD The Wonderful World Of Well Sounding Voltages And Projected Light

Playlist: Ornette Coleman 1930–2015

Ornette Coleman died on 11 June in New York of a heart attack aged 85. Listen to a playlist of some of his music, based on Brian Morton's tribute to the late free jazz pioneer

Watch: The Family Jams excerpt

Watch an excerpt from Kevin Barker's documentary following Devendra Banhart, Joanna Newsom and Vetiver on a 2004 US tour