The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Wire Mix: Matmos

March 2019

The release of Matmos's new plastic-sourced album, featuring the sounds of Styrofoam coolers and silicone gel breast implants, is celebrated with this new exclusive mix

Following 2016’s Ultimate Care II, MC Schmidt and Drew Daniel release new album Plastic Anniversary this week. Smelling fresh, the pair took to the local recycling centre to source plastic from which the album was composed: Bakelite dominos, Styrofoam coolers, polyethylene waste containers, PVC panpipes, pinpricks of bubble wrap, silicone gel breast implants, plastic horns, and synthetic human fatty tissue created by SynDaver Labs. The release also has Deerhoof's Greg Saunier working on plastic percussion.

This mix features a Lechuga Zafiro remix of “Breaking Bread”, a track made from fragments of broken vinyl records by the 1970s soft rock group Bread. Daniel says "the mix was made with a turntable and two laptops and has some post-editing too – there are usually about four layers at any one time, lots of overlays and cut-ups going on here.”

Plastic Anniversary is released on 15 March via Thrill Jockey. And congratulations to the couple as they celebrate their own 25th anniversary.

Mix track list:

Lechuga Zafiro “Para Abajo”
Errorsmith “Retired Low-Level Internal Server”
David Mason-Edwards “I Miss My Dear Cats”
Still “Rough Rider (Low Jack Remix)”
Second Woman “////\\\\/”
Matmos “Breaking Bread (Lechuga Zafiro Remix)”
Sarah Hennies “Falsetto”
Remko Schah “Throb”
Jürgen Bäuninger “The Tam Tam Tape”
CAGE “Kalatensis”
Kevin Drumm “October (Early Warning)”
Eberhard Schoener “Meditation, Part I”
A Random Guy ASMR “Lotion Sounds And Sticky Hand Sounds”
Reinhold Friedl “Crépuscule”
Free Association “Polyrhythm Jizm”
Yoko Ono “Don’t Count The Waves”
Walter Marchetti “Per La Sete Dell’Orecchio”
Arp “Folding Water”
Franz Kamin “Behavioural Drift II”
G*Park “Draht Intro”
Cranioclast “Lost in Karak”
Muslimgauze “Kabul”
Vaperror “Like Water”
Lily “42forfeb4bifb42”
Evil Moisture & Metalux with Twig Harper “Gummy Grinder”
Lanark Artefax “Remainder 1”
Mixed Band Philanthropist “The Man Who Mistook A Real Woman For His Muse And Acted Accordingly”
SEF III “Mnemonic Re-Treat (Part 2)”
SEF III “The Chase”
Max Eilbacher “Internal Logic Trick Fail”
Id M Theft Able “Birds”

Leave a comment

Pseudonyms welcome.

Used to link to you.