The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Listen to Chino Amobi's epic debut album Paradiso

April 2017

Exclusive first listen to the NON co-founder's sprawling full-length debut

The Wire presents an advance stream of the debut album from producer Chino Amobi, co-founder of the Afro-diasporic collective NON.

Epic in scale and cinematic in scope, Paradiso is described as "an auteur account of post-American wasteland" and combines elements of bass, hiphop, industrial, metal, electro, techno and house with spoken word, musique concrete and noise. Amobi's first full-length release, it follows Anya's Garden (2015), Airport Music For Black Folk (2016) and the dance soundtrack Minor Matter (2017).

A large-scale collaborative effort, Paradiso features contributions from Elysia Crampton, Dutch E Germ, Nkisi, Rabit, Aurel Haize Obogbo, Haleek Maul, Embaci, Full Carnage, Benja SL, Rena Anakwe, Eaves, Jesse Heibo, Therochelle Moore, FAKA, Black Paintings, FALSE PRPHT, POOZY, Johnny Utterback and Moro.

You can read Joe Muggs's extensive feature on NON in The Wire 394. Subscribers can access the issue via the online archive.

Paradiso is released by NON Worldwide/UNO NYC on 5 May

Leave a comment

Pseudonyms welcome.

Used to link to you.