The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Stream Ex-Easter Island Head tracks

August 2012

Listen to three guitar based compositions by the mallet wielding minimalist Liverpool group, featured in an article by Abi Bliss in The Wire 343.

Ex-Easter Island Head currently comprise of Benjamin Duvall, George Maund and Jon Hering. To create their rhythmic, minimalist compositions they use electric guitars modified by Allen keys, extra bridges under the strings that are struck by mallets, alongside claves, cymbals and trumpet.

The tracks streamed above, "First Movement", "Second Movement" and "Music For Moai Hava", are from their forthcoming Mallet Guitars Two/Music For Moai Hava album (out on vinyl and digital in September on the Low Point label) and were recorded by an earlier formation of the group: Duvall, Maund, Jacob Chabeaux and Nicholas Hunt.

Leave a comment

Pseudonyms welcome.

Used to link to you.