The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


FCA 2012 awards announced

The Foundation For Contemporary Arts has released the name of the winner of this year's John Cage Award and the recipients of their grants for artists. The $50,000 John Cage Award was awarded to Pauline Oliveros for "outstanding achievement in the arts for work that reflects the spirit of John Cage".

14 further artists have received $25,000 grants, including Jace Clayton (aka The Wire 333 cover artist DJ Rupture) and Rhodri Davies in the music and sound category. The full list of award winners, plus information on the grant programmes can be found on the FCA site here.

Listen to an excerpt recording of Rhodri Davies's Wire room harp installation here.