The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Wire reissue first three albums on their Pink Flag record label

The announcement comes following the news of the Record Store Day 7” singles box set

Wire are set to reissue their first three albums Pink Flag (1977), Chairs Missing (1978) and 154 (1979). Coming out via the group's own label Pink Flag, they'll be released in two editions. Firstly, on 19 May, a special edition CD book combo including unreleased music will be released, which will then be followed by a standard edition LP and CD on 22 June. The book edition will include an introduction by Jon Savage, and an article by Graham Duff. There will also be recording details, new interviews with all original band members, and song lyrics.

Also announced is Nine Sevens 7” vinyl box set, due for release on 21 April (Record Store Day), also on Pink Flag. This collection features singles released between 1977–1980, and includes a rare EP given away with the first pressings of the album 154.

More information can be found on the Pink Flag website, and you can listen to “Outdoor Miner” from Chairs Missing below.