The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Ten CD box set compiled by Ratskin Records in response to violence in US

Money raised by the compilation will be divided between Black Lives Matters national chapter bail fund and San Francisco’s St James Infirmary

Oakland, California label Ratskin Records have released a 12 hour benefit compilation designed as a “direct response to the rapidly worsening, violent, political and philosophical conditions in our current state”. Released earlier this month, Rogue Pulse/Gravity Collapse, is available in digital and physical formats, and all proceeds will be split between Black Lives Matter national chapter bail fund and St James Infirmary in San Francisco.

In its physical format, Rogue Pulse/Gravity Collapse is a ten CD box set accompanied by a 16-page booklet of sleevenotes and writings, photograph and full colour limited edition print, plus download code. The digital version will include scans of all the media.

Taking part are an international selection of producers, sound artists and bands spanning the fields of noise, electro, trap, electronics, industrial, metal, musique concrete, field recordings and more. Further, the vast majority of tracks were produced specially for the release. On the set’s Bandcamp page, Ratskin Records declare: “This document serves both as a vast (yet obviously incomplete) document of contemporary and modern artists pushing the limits of esoteric, political, radical and lucid strategies of sound, space and resistance, as well as strives to create a dialogue around creating an alternative nexus of artist and musician solidarity through models bridging the gap between artistic documents and radical modes of resistance, fundraising, networking and solidarity.”

Among the artists making up its 184 track listing are Wolf Eyes, Negativland, Moor Mother, Black Spirituals, Clipping, Dj Spooky, Daniel Menche, Sun Araw Trio, Jim Haynes, Headboggle, Gerritt Wittmer, Kid606, Xiu Xiu, Drew Mcdowall, and many more.

Rogue Pulse/Gravity Collapse is limited to an edition of 300 signed and numbered physical copies. A set of preorder copies were also signed and numbered, and included extra content such as a ‘self defense weapon’, a pin set and five additional prints. The cover art is designed by Los Angeles based artist Lexx Valdez.

Note: this article was edited 14 August 2017. It originally stated that part of the money raised from the compilation would go towards the relief fund for victims of the Ghost Ship arts space fire. However they are no longer accepting donations. Details of a replacement charity are yet to be confirmed