The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Cluster nine album box set

This April, Bureau B to release a nine album Cluster box set.

Hamburg label Bureau B is set to release a nine album Cluster box set this spring. Documenting the groups output after founding member Conrad Schnitzler left, and the remaining duo – Hans-Joachim Roedelius and Dieter Moebius – swapped the K for a C, Cluster 1971–1981 includes the eight albums released during this time, plus a previously unreleased album of two live recordings made between 1972–77. All the albums have been remastered by Willem Makkee, and Asmus Tietchens has contributed notes about the evolution of the outfit,with essays about each individual album. Releases include: Cluster 71, Cluster II, Zuckerzeit, Sowiesoso, Cluster & Eno, Eno Moebius Roedelius: After The Heat, Grosses Wasser, Curiosum and the previously unreleased Konzerte 1972/1977.

Pressed in limited runs of 1000 vinyl and 1500 CD copies, the set will be released on 8 April. You can listen to a selection of tracks below.