The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Massive Attack return

Massive Attack release first EP since 2010

Massive Attack are back with a new EP titled Ritual Spirit on Virgin/EMI. Produced by Massive Attack’s Robert del Naja and long-term studio collaborator Euan Dickinson, the EP features Tricky on the track “Take It There” as well as collaborations with Edinburgh hip hop group Young Fathers, Roots Manuva and East London newcomer Azekel. The release marks the first release for the group since 2010's Atlas Air EP and a Burial collaboration in 2011 with the Four Walls/Paradise Circus 12”. A second EP, written and co-produced by Daddy G, is set for release in spring this year.

The group have also joined the likes of Goldie and released their own App. Called Fantom, the sensory music player creates personalised remixes of the four tracks from the new EP, based on the listener's heartbeat, location, time and movement.