The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Popol Vuh 1970s box set incoming

In April BMG reissue five 1970s albums as separate CDs and LP box set

A selection of German group Popol Vuh's 1970s albums are set for release in April. From the 12 albums put out during that decade, the chosen few include 1970 debut album Affenstunde, alongside their third album Hosianna Mantra (1972), the fifth Einsjäger & Siebenjäger (1974), their seventh Aguirre (1975) and eleventh Nosferatu (1978). They'll be released as both individual albums on CD and as a box set of six LPs called The Essential Album Collection Vol 1. Both CD and LP reissues are remastered by band members Guido Hieronymus and Frank Fiedler, and include bonus tracks, an illustrated booklet and linear notes.

Founded in 1970 in Munich, the German group parted ways in 2001 with the death of Popol Vuh's Florian Fricke. 2011 saw a revival however, with a tribute remix album featuring Âme, Stereolab, Mouse on Mars, Thomas Fehlmann and Peter Kruder.

The Essential Album Collection Vol 1 is out on 26 April for a little over £100 via BMG.

You can listen to the original title track from Affenstunde below.