The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Zs line-up change for tenth anniversary, plus retrospective release and party

New Yorkers Zs are celebrating their ten year anniversary with a box set and a line-up change. The new line-up is a three piece, and includes founder member Sam Hillmer, plus guitarist Patrick Higgins and drummer Greg Fox. The trio are planning to release an album (titled Xe) and an EP (titled Grain) next year.

The Zs retrospective is a four disc set titled Score – The Complete Sextet Works From 2002–2007, which will arrive on 11 September. The set includes all of the group's out of print works from their first five years of life, plus a disc of previously unreleased material. Zs celebrate en masse with a release party on 29 August in Brooklyn, at 285 Kent Ave, with a raft of performances from current and former Zs members's groups and side projects. Playing on the night will be Hillmer's Diamond Terrifier, plus Hubble, Extra Life, Wet Ink Ensemble, and the Mick Barr & Marc Edwards Duo.

Listen to samples from Score below. Further reading: a 7,000 word history of Zs over at Northern Spy.