The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Alga Marghen releasing compilation of silent music

Italian label Alga Marghen is releasing an anthology of silent music. Sound Of Silence includes silent works by Andy Warhol, John Lennon, Sly & The Family Stone, Robert Wyatt, John Denver, Whitehouse, Orbital, Crass, Afrika Bambaataa, Yves Klein and others. Confused? The album is described as presenting silences as surfaces – all artefacts from the various record processes are retained. Some are missing tracks, things replaced at the last minute for political reasons, and mysterious 7"s meant to give dancers a chance to catch their breath. Comes with instructions to play loud.