The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Japanese quartet Saicobab to release debut album

The improv project consisting of YoshimiO, Yoshida Daikiti, Motoyuki Hamamoto and Akita Goldman will release Sab Se Purani Bab in October 2017

This autumn Japanese quartet Saicobab will release their debut album. Formed in 2001 by OOIOO's YoshimiO and sitar player Yoshida Daikiti, the group now features bassist Akita Goldman and Motoyuki “Hama” Hamamoto on percussion and gamelan. Saicobab describe themselves as “spiraling grind core raga music”, taking influence from traditional Indian and Japanese musics, spirituality and ancient numerology, with the majority of recordings on the release recorded live and then manipulated during the editing process.

Sab Se Purani Bab will be released on CD and as a deluxe vinyl edition with 2 x LP in a gatefold jacket and metallic foiling, a free download card and a remix of “AWAWAW” by Cevdet Erek. First pre-orders can also get a limited colour vinyl edition. It will be released on Thrill Jockey 20 October. Pre order via Thrill Jockey's website.

Listen to “Bx Ax Bx” below: