The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


CTM makes first line-up announcement

The 2019 edition will take place between 23 January–3 February

Next year marks 20 years of Berlin’s CTM festival. Through a series of concerts, club nights, exhibitions and talks, the event has invited artists and collaborators both old and new, with this year's theme, as announced earlier in the year, being Persistence. “It’s not only a fitting allegory for our 20th birthday,” they say, “but also describes an attempt to consider what is worth being persistent about, and how.”

So far announced are 700 Bliss, 9T Antiope & Rainer Kohlberger, Actress + Young Paint, A Tribe Called Red, Colin Self, Curl, DJ Haram, Eartheater, Erwan Keravec, Gazelle Twin, Kai Whiston, Khyam Allami, Lotic, Lucy Railton, Mina & MC Bryte, Rabih Beaini & Pouja Pouramin Ensemble, Riobamba, Stefan Fraunberger, Temp Illusion, Thomas Ankersmit, Tirzah and Yves Tumor.

Two open calls for artists to submit new work are approaching their deadline: CTM 2019 MusicMakers Hacklab Open Call hosted by Peter Kirn of CDM, and the Research Networking Day 2019, both of which close on 2 December. Venues this year include regular partners such as HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Berghain, Kunstquartier Bethanien, Festsaal Kreuzberg, Heimathafen, Astra and SchwuZ, and new ones DAAD Gallery, nGbK, and Grießmühle. Festival passes are available now.