The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Byron Coley & Joanne Robertson turn to 1979 for next edition of Songbook

Tenderbooks and Bad Taste Press publish second book of review poems

Byron Coley and Joanne Robertson have penned another book of review poems. Following 2018's 1971 (A Year In Record Review Poems), this new edition looks to the year 1979 for inspiration.

Celebrated releases from that year include works from artists such as Germs, Loretta Lynn, Meredith Monk and Cecil Taylor.

“The idea for doing books of poems functioning as reviews of records released in a certain year was originally hatched as a transatlantic jape,” say the collaborators. “But upon further consideration, it seemed like a pretty fine way to investigate the culture of a specific year.

“As with the earlier volume, records are dealt with as both the hard coinage of accrued knowledge as well as wisps of forgotten magic, discovered by sheer happenstance.”

1979 Songbook is co-published by Tenderbooks & Bad Taste Press and is available to buy now.