The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Beatrice Dillon among those nominated for Jules Wright Prize

Film London and The Wapping Project announce shortlist for prize awarding female creative technicians

Beatrice Dillon, Chu-Li Shewring and Zhe Wu have been nominated for this year's Jules Wright Prize. Awarded to UK based female creative technicians who have worked within the field of the moving image, the prize of £5000 will this year celebrate those working in sound design. This is the third year that the award has been running with the aim of highlighting the role of female technicians and to draw attention to the underrepresentation of women in the industry.

The jury, comprising Sara Putt of Sara Putt Associates, editor and winner of last year's prize Lucy Harris, and composer, librettist and singer-songwriter Errollyn Wallen, said “We were impressed by the commitment, knowledge, professional experience and diversity of the works of all the shortlisted nominees, presenting an impressive picture of the quality and depth of talent of female technicians working with sound. The high technical and professional skills of the shortlist are matched by a sensitivity of approach and interpretation to working with sound that is informed by collaboration and dialogue. This creative exchange and generosity continues to make a huge contribution to the international success and vibrancy of artists’ film.”

Dillon, who was tested by Jennifer Lucy Allan for the Invisible Jukebox in The Wire 389, is a London based composer, DJ and producer who has released on labels such as Boomkat Editions, Pan, The Trilogy Tapes and Where To Now?. She's collaborated with the likes of Conrad Shawcross, Pedro Reyes, Mai-Thu Perret and Claire Hooper, working on sound and music for film, installation and performance. Chu-Li Shewring is a film maker, sound designer and visiting sound tutor at University College London and the National Film and Television School. She's worked with Steve McQueen on Hunger, Frances Scott on CANWEYE { } and Diviner, as well as with Ben Rivers, Phil Coy and Esther Johnson. Zhe Wu is a sound designer and post-production engineer who's worked with Sarah Turner on Perestroika and Public House and with Siobhan Davies and David Hinton on The Running Tongue.

The prize is part of Film London Jarman Award and the winner will be announced at a ceremony at the Whitechapel Gallery on 20 November. Watch an excerpt from Beatrice Dillon, Florence Peake and Anne Tetzlaff's Untitled, 2017 at Wysing Arts Centre: