The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Machinefabriek and Gabriel Saloman share full stream of collaborative fundraiser album

34 new reworks from 17 international duos raises money for refugees in Europe

CRXSSINGS is a new project from Rutger Zuydervelt aka Machinefabriek and Gabriel Saloman of Yellow Swans. The record features 17 artist duos remixing each other’s work, a concept that came out of an exchange of remixes between Zuydervelt and Saloman. CRXSSINGS sets to raise funds and awareness in support of struggling migrants and refugees in Europe.

The 34 track compilation features remix works undertaken by Shelly Knotts & Jan St Werner, Ipek Gorgun & Mira Calix, Aaron Dilloway & Lucrecia Dalt, Laura Luna Castillo & Leyland Kirby, France Jobin & Anne Guthrie, Mads Emil Nielsen & Jan Jelinek, Alessandro Bosetti & Yannis Kyriakides, Seth Graham & Yves De Mey, Jefre Cantu-Ledesma & Le Révélateur, Mark Fell & Jim O'Rourke, Christina Vantzou & Jasmine Guffond, Kreng & Celer, Bjarni Gunnarsson & BJ Nilsen, Jerusalem In My Heart & Black To Comm, Klara Lewis & Lawrence English, Gabriel Saloman & Machinefabriek, BEAST & Chuck Johnson, and Chuck Johnson & Koen Holtkamp.

The album is released via Bandcamp with a suggested donation of €10. Proceeds will go directly to City Plaza Hotel, a refuge located in the heart of Athens organised for and by migrants from Africa and Asia.

“This compilation in no way claims to represent the voices of refugees and migrants, nor does it represent the scores of incredible musicians from the Middle East, North Africa or Central America whose communities are being disrupted by mass migration,” states the album notes on its Bandcamp page. “Rather, the artists
participating in this compilation recognise that their lives and art have benefitted from the relative ease with which they are able to move across borders.” All of the artists involved “share a belief in a basic freedom of movement and stand in solidarity with those migrants and refugees who are struggling”.

Listen to the release below. Mastered by Andrew Weathers with artwork by Daniel Castrejon.