The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Deadline announced for Steve Reid Innovation Award

Previous award alumni include Lady Vendredi, Moses Boyd, Sarathy Korwar, Nubya Garcia, Femi Koleoso and Wu-Lu

The PRS Foundation and the Steve Reid Foundation have announced the next deadline for the Steve Reid Innovation Award: 8 August 2019. Open to any unsigned artists in the UK who write and perform their own music, the initiative provides emerging artists with a grant of up to £1500 plus mentoring from an active artist.

The Steve Reid Foundation was set up by Gilles Peterson, Brownswood Records and a collective of Trustees who worked with the jazz drummer. It’s run in partnership with the PRS Foundation.

Previously successful applicants have included Lady Vendredi, Moses Boyd, Hector Plimmer, Sarathy Korwar, Nubya Garcia, Femi Koleoso, Ola Szmidt, The Little Unsaid and Wu-Lu.

Details on how to apply can be found on the PRS website.