The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Oxford University launching music prize for young electronic composers

A new prize for young electronic music composers in the UK has been launched by Oxford University's Faculty of Music and the Sennheiser headphone and mic company. OSEMP (Oxford Sennheiser Electronic Music Prize) is open to composers under 35, for live or recorded pieces under ten minutes long. The jury includes Natasha Barrett, Martyn Harry and Trevor Wishart. It's not a cash prize, instead comprising studio equipment.

Finalists will have their work diffused on 8 November, for which they can use up to eight channels. More details and info on applying here. Deadline for submissions 31 August.