The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Robert Hood celebrates 20 years of M-Plant

To celebrate 20 years since Detroit techno producer Robert Hood founded his M-Plant label, a 33 track compilation, M-Print: 20 Years Of M-Plant Music is set for release in December.

The three disc compilation contains a selection of tracks by Hood released via the M-Plant imprint, including ones made under his Floorplan and Monobox aliases. The first disc documents M-Plant’s early life, including tracks from 1994's Minimal Nation, 1995's Moveable Parts Chapter 1 and 1997's Moveable Parts Chapter 2 while the second disc covers releases from the last 5 years of the label, including 2010's Power To Prophet and 2011's Sanctified. The third disc contains new and unreleased tracks as well as re-edits and remixes. “M-Plant is more than a compilation,” says Hood “It represents the unfolding of a dream, it represents passion and determination to make something out of nothing.”

M-Print: 20 Years Of M-Plant Music will be released 8 December. More information here.