The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Oren Ambarchi & Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe, Kode9 and Felicia Atkinson complete Semibreve line-up

Full performing programme announced for the Braga festival’s ninth edition in October

Semibreve has revealed the complete line-up for its 2019 edition, running from 25–27 October. New artists confirmed include Morton Subotnick & Lillevan, Suzanne Ciani, a world premiere from Oren Ambarchi & Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe, Kode9, Felicia Atkinson, Drew McDowall & Florence To, and Clothilde. Previously announced participants include Alessandro Cortini, Scanner & Miguel C Tavares, Avalon Emerson, Nik Void, Ipek Gorgun, Rian Treanor and Deaf Center.

The festival has yet to confirm its series of workshops, talks and exhibitions at Capela da Imaculada Conceição church, Theatro Circo, the contemporary arts complex GNRation, Centésima Página and a medieval saloon.

Festival sponsors Edigma will be presenting the Edigma Semibreve Award, set up to “celebrate and promote the creation of works that explore the interactivity, sound and image supported through the use of digital technologies”. Previous winners include Junya Oikawa (2016), Adam Basanta & Gil Delindro (2017) and Elias Merino e Tadej Droljc (2018). This year they are offering a €2500 prize. Deadline for applications is 15 July.