The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Irmin Schmidt box set out this November

Mute will release 12 CD box set of solo works by Irmin Schmidt

Mute and Can specialists Spoon Records will release a box set of works by Can founding member and keyboard player, Irmin Schmidt. The 12 CD collection will cover the entirety of Schmidt's solo works from 1981 to present. Titled Electro Violet, the box kicks off with Schmidt's first post-Can release, Toy Planet (1981), which saw him work with the Swiss jazz musician Bruno Spoerri. The release also includes Schmidt's collaborations with novelist Duncan Fallowell on Musk At Dusk (1987), Impossible Holidays (1991) and the opera Gormenghast. Other works covered include his project with Jono Podmore as Irmin Schmidt & Kumo, represented by the albums Master Of Confusion (2001) and Axolotl Eyes (2008), along with six soundtrack CDs including the previously unreleased Film Musik Anthology Vol 6.

Electro Violet is set for release 20 November and will include sleevenotes from Electronic Beats Editor-In-Chief Max Dax and Irmin Schmidt himself.