The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Domino kicks off new imprint with a Julia Holter release

Domino Documents will feature live recordings from some of the label's artists

Domino has launched a new imprint called Documents. The irregular new series of live studio recordings plans to “capture the ever-evolving arrangements of our artists and their bands in high fidelity”. On top of that, all releases will be recorded in two days or less.

Although the label counts The Villagers’ 2016 release Where Have You Been All My Life? as the honorary inaugural Document release, its first official output comes from Julia Holter on 31 March with In The Same Room. Recorded with bandmates Corey Fogel, Dina Maccabee and Devin Hoff after their performance at Green Man festival in Wales, the release comprises of new arrangements of songs taken from the previous studio releases:Tragedy (2011), Loud City Song (2013) and Have You In My Wilderness (2015).

“Holter’s Domino Documents is an essential release for anyone who has witnessed her brilliant, beguiling band on tour around the world in the last five years as well as the perfect introduction to a truly important and innovative young artist,” declares the label.

You can listen to “So Lillies” below:

Where Have You Been All My Life? is available for pre-order now.