The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Haruomi ‘Harry’ Hosono archive releases

Hosono House, Paraiso and Cochin Moon are among the forthcoming Hosono LPs to be reissued on deluxe vinyl

Light In The Attic’s Japanese Archive series continues with a selection of key albums from Yellow Magic Orchestra mastermind Haruomi ‘Harry’ Hosono.

Included in the label’s batch of vinyl reissues are 1973’s Hosono House, Haruomi Hosono & The Yellow Magic Band’s Paraiso (see below), Cochin Moon (both 1978), 1982’s Philharmony, and 1989’s Omni Sight Seeing. Some of them include a translated interview with Hosono, and triple album bundles are also available. They’re set to be released over the coming months.

Contributor Tomokazu Hayashi explored Yellow Magic Orchestra’s musical output alongside the solo work of YMO members Haruomi Hosono, Ryuichi Sakamoto and Yukihiro Takahashi in The Wire Primer (issue 404). Subscribers can read that over at Exact Editions.