The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Giga-Hertz Awards open submissions for 2013 prize

German electronic music award Giga-Hertz has opened entries for the 2013 prize. There are eight prizes in the award, four for sound art and four for electronic or acousmatic music.

The prizes award €8,000 to each of the eight winners in the form of a grant to create a work, either at the ZKM Institute for Music and Acoustics in Karlsruhe or the SWR Experimental Studio in Freiburg. The grant covers living costs plus travel to and from the studios. Artists working at the SWR Experimental Studio are expected to spend two to four weeks in Freiburg, while those working at ZKM in Karlsruhe have at least two months to complete work. New works will be premiered at the following year's awards ceremony.

Giga-Hertz also awards one grand prize of €15,000, to an established composer with a large body of work. Winners of the grand prize have included Pauline Oliveros, Jonathan Harvey and Trevor Wishart, among others, and are selected by jury vote.

Submissions require a biography, photograph of the artist, description of the work, plus tech specs of the piece, plus a proposal for a new work. Work must not be more than five years old, or have won awards elsewhere. Full details of whether a work qualifies for inclusion here. Application deadline 31 May.