The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Ralf Wehowsky's P16.D4 Noise collective releasing 6CD box set

Ralf Wehowksy's P16.D4 collective is releasing a box set, titled Passagen containing 6CDs, a DVD and a 40 page booklet. It covers the period 1982–1991, and contains Nichts Niemand Nirgends Nie, plus the group's collaboration with Merzbow,and a number of unreleased recordings. 

P16.D4 began recording under the name Permutative Distorsion,then PD, before changing their name to P16.D4, simultanesouly moving away from song structures and descending instead into Industrial avant-garde experimentations with sound. 

As part of the release party Ralf Wehowsky will perform for the first time since 1994, along with  Johannes Frisch, Komora A + Zale, plus Jacek Staniszewski. The box set will be released on 7 December, and the release event takes place the same night, Warsaw Centre For Contemporary Arts, 7pm. 

More details plus a full tracklisting on the Monotype site here. Listen to a sample below, and more on Monotype's Soundcloud account. (NB: The above image is a cropped version of the artwork)