The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Matana Roberts and more contribute to Trump protest album

Over 40 artists collaborate in resistance to the inauguration

Kara Feely and Travis Just of Brooklyn performance group Object Collection have marshalled over 40 artists across "multiple disciplines and practices" for a compilation protesting the inauguration of Donald Trump, President-elect of The United States of America, on 20 January.

Notes From Sub-Underground features contributions from Matana Roberts, Michael Pisaro, Bob Bellerue, Lea Bertucci, String Noise, Mallory Catlett/Black-Eyed Susan, Bill Dietz, Dither Guitar Quartet, Shayna Dunkelman, Jim Findlay, Richard Foreman, Nick Hallett, Brian Harnetty, James Ilgenfritz, Bonnie Jones, Catherine Lamb, Zach Layton, Paula Matthusen, Phill Niblock, Object Collection and more.

The compilation, which is funded via contributions to its Indiegogo page, will be available as a digital download in FLAC and MP3 formats to anyone who contributes any amount. Download links will be emailed to contributors on 20 January. 100 per cent of the proceeds raised from the sale of the album will be donated to the American Civil Liberties Union.

"Obviously this is not a substitute for direct political action," explain Feely and Just. "But as purveyors of experimental performance/music/theater/art, producing work is something we are good at. Subterranean networks are the lifeblood of our practice. It is a corollary for political activity. We flex these muscles now, to strengthen the ties across our communities.

"This compilation features only American artists," they add. "Obviously we are aware that this event in American politics impacts the entire world, quite possibly in terrible disproportion. And we want borders to be erased. Nonetheless, it seems best to us, for the purposes of this compilation, to focus it thus."