The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


CTM 2016 announce Radio Lab winners: Deena Abdelwahed & Marija Bozinovska Jones

CTM 2016 have announced the two winning projects for the Radio Lab open call

The two winning projects for Radio Lab’s open call for the CTM 2016 Festival in Berlin have been announced. The winners are Tunisian musician Deena Abdelwahed and Macedonia born artist Marija Bozinovska Jones. The Radio Lab’s call “sought unusual ideas for pairing the specific artistic possibilities of radio with the potentials of live performance or installation, that also explore the CTM 2016 Festival theme: New Geographies”. The callout brought in a total of 145 submissions from 34 countries. The two winning proposals both look at “collective and decentralised futures”, working with ideas of utopia and dystopia in an increasingly networked society. Called All Hail Mother Internet, electronic artist Deena Abdelwahed’s proposal ponders how life might have been different had she not had access to the internet as a teenager. Marija Bozinovska Jones aka MBJ Wetware proposes a collaboration with Lithuanian producer JG Biberkopf (whose recent Ecologies EP was released in June by Kuedo’s Knives label). The judging panel consisted of Marcus Gammel, Elisabeth Zimmerman, Jan Rohlf, Antye Greie-Ripatti and The Wire contributor Richard Thomas. You can read the full announcement on the CTM website.