The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Compilation album Sichten 1 launches new Raster series

As a taster for the LP, the label shares Benjamin Brunn’s “Joy”

German label Raster has launched a compilation series called Sichten. With each release curated by a different artist, the series will focus on “out-of-the-radar” electronic music.

“Sichten refers both to opinions as well as the examination of material,” explains the label. “In loose sequence, we will invite friends and colleagues, but especially music lovers to share their opinions on music with us or to look through their collected materials in order to present music that tends to be out of the focus of current media channels. As a label for electronic music our focus is on examining exactly this genre.”

Raster co-founder Frank Bretschneider has assembled Sichten 1 from 18 tracks featuring six artists new to the label – Zavoloka, Mimicof,, Benjamin Brunn, Pierce Warnecke and Mads Emil Nielsen.

Since the dissolution of Raster-Noton in 2017 and the subsequent launch of Raster, the label’s roster has included artists such as Robert Lippok, Atom™ & Lisokot, Belief Defect and Island People.

Sichten 1 is released on 21 September. Listen to Benjamin Brunn’s “Joy”.