The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Bristol’s Young Echo collective releases second LP

The ever expanding network of 11 artists, among them Kahn, Neek, Ishan Sound, Rider Shafique and Jasmine, deals in “shapeshifting anarchy which rears its head when no one idea can rule”

Young Echo have returned with their second LP in just under five years. Simply titled Young Echo, the 24 track set draws on the extended networks and numerous projects the collective’s members have been working on since YE01. The collective’s core acts consist of Jabu, Vessel, Kahn, Neek, Ishan Sound, Ossia, Manonmars, Bogues, Rider Shafique, chester giles and Jasmine, and projects featured on the release also include Bandulu, FuckPunk, O$VMV$M, Gorgon Sound and ASDA. But the album should not to be judged by any one group or artist. “It is most effective as a whole, simply titled Young Echo,” they insist. “Of course each of the artists has an important part to play, but it is very much about the act of balance, accepting individualism to form a greater whole.”

The album is spread across two 180 gm discs housed in a gatefold sleeve designed by members and affiliates. First copies will be available at the album launch on 1 February at Bristol Trinity Centre, but its official release date is 16 February. Young Echo appeared alongside Livity Sound on the cover of The Wire 355.

You can listen to the track “Untitled” below.