The Wire


The Radiophonic Workshop score music for new UK horror film

This is the first time the research lab has composed a feature length soundtrack

Radio and television composers The Radiophonic Workshop have scored their first ever feature length soundtrack. It’s for Matthew Holness’s debut horror film Possum, starring Sean Harris and Alun Armstrong. The score features sound elements and drones from the Delia Derbyshire archives, which were originally discovered in Derbyshire’s attic and since fully restored.

“At once unnerving, atmospheric and deeply moving,” says Holness about the music. The Workshop have shared the film’s “Verse 1 And Main Titles” track so you can decide for yourself.

Possum opens in UK cinemas on 26 October, and the original soundtrack album featuring nine bonus tracks will be released on 30 November, with sleeve art designed by Ghost Box’s Julian House.

Watch the trailer for Possum below: