The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Houndstooth announces TS Eliot inspired compilation

In Death's Dream Kingdom features 25 tracks inspired by Eliot’s The Hollow Men

London electronic label Houndstooth is releasing a new compilation consisting of 25 new tracks. Artists were asked to compose a track inspired by the phrase “in death's dream kingdom” taken from the TS Eliot's 1925 poem The Hollow Men. Artists featured on the compilation are: Otto Lindholm, Pan Daijing, Lanark Artefax, Petit Singe, Peder Mannerfelt, Tomoko Sauvage, Pye Corner Audio, Sophia Loizou, Abul Mogard, Par Grindvik, Koenraad Ecker, Roly Porter, Hodge, Gazelle Twin, Shapednoise, ASC, Batu, We Will Fail, Peter Van Hoesen, Spatial, Yves De Mey, Mindspan, Kangding Ray, ZOV ZOV and Ian William Craig.

The selection was compiled by Rob Butterworth and Rob Booth, also responsible for the 111 track #savefabric compilation released last year in response to the threat of permanent closure for London's legendary club. The tracks will be made available to stream one-by-one (at a rate of two a day, Monday to Friday) with online texts, and artwork by Jazz Szu-Ying Chen. The full compilation will be released digitally on 26 January. Listen to the first track “Cain” from Otto Lindholm below.