The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


New series explores states of non-equilibrium

Time Krystal takes place this summer in Berlin with Hanna Hartmann, Stine Janvin, Lucy Railton, and more

The new music event series Time Krystal: Music In Non-Equilibrium launches this month at Berlin’s Kantine Am Berghain. Taking inspiration from the time crystal, or space-time crystal – a structure that repeats in time and space – the series looks at states of non-equilibrium.

Curated by Boris Baltschun, it’s described as “a laboratory for musical experiments that render non-equilibrium audible”. Here 12 Berlin based musicians and groups will delve into states of continuous change in sound. They include: Hanna Hartmann, Hanno Leichtmann and Gamut Inc (19 April); Julia Reidy, ercklentz neumann and Jan Jelinek (24 May); Stine Janvin, The Pitch and Jessica Ekomane (21 June); Lucy Railton, Lucio Capece and Jasmine Guffond (12 July).

More information can be found on their website.