The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Nihilist Spasm Band reunite with Joe McPhee for 50th Anniversary

To mark 50 years of noisemaking, Nihilist Spasm Band perform with Joe McPhee

The freeform noise unit Nihilist Spasm Band are set to reunite with Joe McPhee for a three day tour marking 50 years of performance. Formed in London, Ontario in 1965, NSB have played nearly every Monday night since at an arts venue in their hometown. They recorded with McPhee in 2000 on their No Borders double CD and performed with him the following year at NSB's fourth No Music festival. McPhee will rejoin the group, now comprised of John Boyle, John Clement, Bill Exley, Murray Favro, Aya Onishi and Art Pratten, for their anniversary tour taking in eBar, Guelph (CA) (16 September), The Garrison, Toronto (17) and Museum London, Ontario (18). More information can be found here.