The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


CTM makes first artist announcement

The 19th edition of CTM will take place from 26 January to 4 February 2018, with the first round of artists announced including Rashad Becker, Jana Rush and Nadah El Shazly

CTM has made their first artist announcement for their 19th edition of the Berlin based festival. With this year's theme marked as Turmoil, the event will be centred around the questions, “What is the sound of turmoil? What are aesthetics of tumult? What to do with such intensities? Which other sonic and musical responses could we conceive of to counter the current overload of agitation, anxiety and animosity?”

Last month CTM announced the winner of its Radio Lab commission as ZULI aka the electronic music producer from Cairo Ahmed El Ghazoly. He'll be creating a special installation and radio work that looks at the current political climate of his home city through the eyes of local people.

Other artists to perform at the event include Amenra, Cevdet Erek, Darkraver, DJ Panic, Rashad Becker, Pan Daijing, Ian Helliwell, Patrick Primavesi, Jace Clayton with Julius Eastman Memorial Dinner, Jana Rush, Medusa’s Bed with Lydia Lunch, Zahra Mani & Mia Zabelka, Nadah El Shazly, and Swan Meat. Installations will come from Philip Vermeulen with Boem Boem and Teun Vonk with The Physical Mind. There is also an open call for participants to this year's MusicMakers HackLab with a closing date of 30 November.

The festival will take place at HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Berghain, Yaam and Festsaal Kreuzberg and there are a limited number of early bird passes on sale now.