The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Ghost Box release tenth anniversary compilation

The Ghost Box label celebrates its tenth anniversary with a brand new compilation

The Ghost Box label goes back to the future – or should that be the past? – with a brand new compilation celebrating their tenth anniversary (which, in true time-shifting fashion, actually passed quietly back at the end of 2014). In A Moment… Ghost Box collects highlights from Julian House and Jim Jupp’s label’s catalogue. The anthology includes “Farmer’s Angle”, by Jupp’s Belbury Poly, from the very first EP released on Ghost Box in 2004, as well as tracks by House’s The Focus Group, The Advisory Circle, Pye Corner Audio and lesser known Ghost Box names such as Roj, Hintermass and Soundcarriers.

Other highlights include John Foxx and The Belbury Circle’s collaboration “Almost There”, and music from protohauntological classic The Séance At Hobs Lane by Drew Mulholland’s Mount Vernon Arts Lab. Originally released in 2001 and reissued by Ghost Box in 2007, The Séance featured contributions from Coil’s John Balance, Portishead’s Adrian Utley and Barry 7 from Add N To (X).

In A Moment… Ghost Box will also be released as a download, but the label promises that it will be producing physical copies as lavish editions (including a gatefold LP) with new artwork by Julian House and extensive sleevenotes by veteran ghost hunter Simon Reynolds, whose 2006 Haunted Audio article in The Wire 273 delved into the world of Ghost Box and fellow hauntologists Mordant Music. The collection is released by Ghost Box on 9 October, following a flurry of label activity that has included new reissues of The Séance At Hobs Lane and The Advisory Circle’s Other Channels.