The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


15 LP Zoviet France retrospective on pre-order now

Housed in a deluxe wooden box, it includes music dating from 1982–87, plus two 7" singles and a T-shirt

A major retrospective of early Zoviet France recordings has been produced by Germany’s Vinyl On Demand operation and is now available for pre-order via Sound Ohm. Called Châsse’ Recordings 1982–87, it compiles 15 LPs of music made between 1982–87. Limited to 400 copies, once it has sold out a repress of a set this big is "unlikely”.

Formed in 1980, the Newcastle upon Tyne collective, then consisting of Ben Ponton, Peter Jensen and Robin Storey, released their debut LP Garista in 1982. Other albums included in the box set are Untitled/Norsch (1982/83), Monomishe (1983), Eostre (1984), an unreleased extended version of Gris (1985), Popular Soviet Songs And Youth Music (1985), Misfits, Loony Tunes And Squalid Criminals (1986), Gesture Signal Threat (1986), Loh Land (1987), Assault And Mirage (1987) and A Flock of Rotations (1987).

They’ve all been remastered by Sam Grant and pressed to 180 gram vinyl. The wooden box containing them also includes two 7" singles and a T-shirt, and it’ll set you back €249.90.