The Wire

The world's greatest print and online music magazine. Independent since 1982


Pica Disk to release Reynols box set

The Argentinian cult group are the subject of a new 52 track overview called Minecxio Emanation 1993–2018

Lasse Marhaug's Pica Disk label is about to release Minecxio Emanation 1993–2018, a box set documenting the work of Argentinian group Reynols. Formed in 1993 in Buenos Aires, the free rock trio consisted of Roberto Conlazo, Alan Courtis, and Miguel Tomasín, a drummer with Down's Syndrome described by the group as their “spiritual architect” . “When we talk about Reynols, we have to first talk about Miguel,” Courtis told Chris Moss in The Wire 197. “The simple fact of having Miguel in the band means we cannot do what other bands do.”

Minecxio Emanation barely scratches the surface”, declares Marhaug, which is quite a statement for a release that includes 52 tracks, a documentary, and a booklet of photos, artwork and clippings, as well as a new essay by The Wire contributor Marc Masters. Reynols have been frequently documented in the past, but this set “marks the first time the band has allowed an extensive overview of their work to be made”, states Marhaug.

“Fans of the band will also be happy to learn that most of the material is previously unreleased,” he continues, “including two albums from the early 2000s that were completed but never released.”

Other unreleased works include Reynols’ collaborations with Acid Mother's Temple and Pauline Oliveros.

Reynols’ Minecxio Emanation 1993–2018 is released on 15 February by Pica Disk.